April Showers Bring….

Busyness.

Sometimes everything just comes together at once…. and April has been that month for me. Above is a photo from a show I did with the Classic Crime at the Showbox at the Market.  Really cool guys… and a super fun show.  Mostly I paint with really mello bands.  But being on stage shaking it while the rest of the guys head bang and jump around was a great time.  Admittingly… I felt a little old.  But I’m fighting that disposition, so don’t worry about me.

Earlier this month I was down at the Grove Church in Chandler, AZ working with them for several days.  They put on a 3 day conference talking about how we can look to Jesus for spiritual development as individuals and a community, and I created two paintings per day while Joel Stohl spoke.  Then I stayed for Sunday morning painting during three services…. and then finished off the weekend by doing a commission painting at someones house on Sunday evening.  10 paintings in 4 days.  Needless to say I was a bit exhausted when I came home. Here are some pics from that time (all of these were created within an hour)….

(painting on the back porch of my friends house... with help from their kids!)

 

In the midst of all this, I’m also working on some studio work that will be shown in Ballard in June.  Here is a piece that is still in process for that show….

(acrylic on canvas, 48" x 48")

UPCOMING EVENTS

APRIL 14 | ROUND 47

Tonight! I’m painting at the Round tonight with awesome musicians and some great poets. 

VANCOUVER PROJECT IN GREENWOOD

The Vancouver Project is at the Green Bean Coffee House for this month.  If you haven’t seen it, stop by for a cup of joe and enlightenment.

APRIL 25-28 | MOBILIZATION TO END POVERTY | WASH D.C.

I will be participating with Acting On Aids’ Summit On The Hill and Sojourner’s Mobilization To End Poverty.   I will be painting at various events and will be hosting a seminar on how utilize creative arts in the way of advocacy.

JUNE | CAFE VERITE BALLARD | ART SHOW

New work for a great venue.  Art opening to come….

 

For more info, pics, and other calendar events, you can go to www.thetranspireproject.com.

And I’m now on Twitter. If you want to get updates about my exciting life (whatever) you can add me at www.twitter.com/scottthepainter.

 

Word up.  Keep it really real.

scott

About scotterickson

curator of awesomeness scottericksonart.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.