First Thursday Art Opening

Hey everyone!  

I’ve had a busy fall being the artist in residence at all the Youth Specialties conferences.  I just got back from Pittsburgh, and I did the Sacramento one before that.  In a couple weeks I finish off in Nashville which will be the biggest one of them all… about 5000 in attendence.  I paint during all the general sessions, and host an art resource/creating room called the ArtDen. It’s been a great experience and I’ve met a ton of very cool people.  If you’re a good friend of mine and you haven’t seen me in awhile, well I hope this email let’s you know I’m not dead.  You can click on the picture below to see pictures from the last two conventions… paintings I’ve done and some other fun ones.

In the mean time… I want to invite you all to an art opening that’s going on this thursday…..

November 6 | The Vancouver Project

Opening Reception: First Thursday, 6-9pm
Fat Tiger Studio | 3rd Floor
619 Western Ave., Seattle WA


press release:
“Fat Tiger Studio is pleased to announce the first showing of the traveling exhibition, The Vancouver Project.  In August 2008, six emerging artists Scott Erickson, Jen Grabarczyk, Scott Kolbo, Jeremy Mangan, Christen Mattix, and Matt Whitney drove from Seattle to Vancouver, B.C. for two weeks of uninterrupted artmaking in a large shared studio.  Over the course of two weeks, experiments occurred, ideas and stories were exchanged, and friendships forged.  The work of these artists is stylistically diverse ranging from abstract to illustrative, from expressionist to graphic.   Themes include personal narrative, religion, politics, surrealism, and memory.  The project was generously sponsored by individuals and churches seeking to ease artists’ financial and conceptual constraints–providing room, board and art materials, so that they could create work without distractions.  The Vancouver Project will travel throughout the Pacific Northwest.”
It’s going to be a big sexy art party with lots of food, drink, music, and art!  So I don’t have to convince you that it’s going to be the place to be. Hope to see you there.
cheers!
Scott
About scotterickson

curator of awesomeness scottericksonart.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.